Welcome!

Sign In or Register to gain full access to our forums.

Photo
- - - - -

Suggestion for a client installation guide

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Tisane

Tisane

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2016 - 01:57 AM

Hi! I'm Tisane, but I used to be better known as Bleisie and Sokeri. I've been playing on and off for ~10 years now and I've recently come back.

I'm not saying this as a newbie, but I am saying this as someone who genuinely loves this game: is it possible to update the client bundles? Or have an installation guide for clients? I love this MUD, but as someone who doesn't practice coding enough, the kind of hoops you have to jump through to get a client to work for you can be sort of a turn off. It'd also be nice, given that OS changes make installing clients a little more difficult than before.

Just from personal experience -- the MUSHClient bundle is buggy (I can go into specifics if you'd like, but that's not the focus of this post), the player-made Mudlet GUI isn't really the easiest to install, and am I wrong in thinking that the Moongate Client has also been down for a while? It just feels like without a strong background with coding and programming, it can be difficult to ascertain why clients don't work. I don't know how I got Portal to work for me 10 years ago, and I sure can't do it now. I don't mean to make this into a "I can't make it work for me, so fix it!" sort of thread, but it is frustrating to have difficulties installing a client for a game that doesn't have any other system requirements otherwise.

I know clients are not exactly MM's responsibility, but I honestly think that a client's accessibility is part of the immersive experience of playing any MUD. I hope that alone makes it something worth considering.

#2 Iyara

Iyara

Keeper of Lists

• Admins
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 18 November 2016 - 09:18 AM